ABA Product

From Unseen Fire (Aven Cycle #1) By Cass Morris Cover Image

From Unseen Fire (Aven Cycle #1) (Paperback)

$17.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Aven Cycle series.

In an alternate version of ancient Rome, a trio of patrician sisters and an ambitious senator use wit, charm, and magic to realize their dreams for the city they love.


The Dictator is dead; long live the Republic.

But whose Republic will it be? Senators, generals, and elemental mages vie for the power to shape the future of the city of Aven. Latona of the Vitelliae, a mage of Spirit and Fire, has suppressed her phenomenal talents for fear they would draw unwanted attention from unscrupulous men. Now that the Dictator who threatened her family is gone, she may have an opportunity to seize a greater destiny as a protector of the people -- if only she can find the courage to try.

Her siblings-a widow who conceals a canny political mind in the guise of a frivolous socialite, a young prophetess learning to navigate a treacherous world, and a military tribune leading a dangerous expedition in the province of Iberia-will be her allies as she builds a place for herself in this new world, against the objections of their father, her husband, and the strictures of Aventan society.

Latona's path intersects with that of Sempronius Tarren, an ambitious senator harboring a dangerous secret. Sacred law dictates that no mage may hold high office, but Sempronius, a Shadow mage who has kept his abilities a life-long secret, intends to do just that. As rebellion brews in the provinces, Sempronius must outwit the ruthless leader of the opposing Senate faction to claim the political and military power he needs to secure a glorious future for Aven and his own place in history.

As politics draw them together and romance blossoms between them, Latona and Sempronius will use wit, charm, and magic to shape Aven's fate. But when their foes resort to brutal violence and foul sorcery, will their efforts be enough to save the Republic they love?


Praise for From Unseen Fire

  • Winner of the 2019 Webster Award
  • "A spellbinding tale of political machinations.... Fans of I, Claudius and Game of Thrones are in for a treat." -Booklist (starred review)
  • "Brilliantly imagined and plotted." -BookPage
  • "'Rome with magic' turns out to be exactly the novel I wanted to read." -Kate Elliott, author of Unconquerable Sun
Product Details ISBN: 9781088078440
ISBN-10: 1088078443
Publisher: Cass Morris
Publication Date: April 22nd, 2022
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Aven Cycle