ABA Product

Animal: The Beginning Cover Image
By K'wan
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Based on his bestselling Animal series comes Kwan’s highly anticipated prequel, Animal: The Beginning. 

What happens to the children that the world throws away? They become Animals. Tayshawn Torres is a child born in the slums and cursed by the sins of his parents. His mother is a notorious drug addict and whore, more concerned with getting her next high than she is with his well-being. His stepfather hates him so much, that he literally treats him like an animal. Tayshawn is forced to sleep in a cage and scavenge for scraps of food wherever he can find them. Because of his squalid appearance, he is also the object of ridicule by all of the neighborhood kids who have given the nickname, Animal.

The only person to ever show him even the slightest bit of kindness is his older brother, Justice. Justice keeps him out of harm's way the best he can. However, when Justice is taken from his life, Tayshawn finds he is alone in the streets. With his guardian angel gone, he is now at the mercy of the world Justice tried to protect him from.

Tayshawn quickly learns that if he is to survive the jungle, he will have to adapt. Love and companionship constantly elude Tayshawn, but death and heartache cling to him like a second skin. Gradually, the layers of the frightened child he had been are stripped away until there is nothing left of Tayshawn, and all that remains is, Animal.

About the Author

K'wan is a multiple literary award winner and bestselling author of over a dozen street-lit titles. K'wan is also the author of several dark fantasy novels written under a pseudonym. He has been featured in: Vibe, Pages, King, Library Journal, Entertainment Weekly, New York Press, and Time, to name a few. K'wan was also the recipient of the 2012 and 2013 Street Lit Book Award Medals (SLBAM) in adult fiction for Eviction Notice and Animal. His credits also include featured commentary in the award winning documentary Iceberg Slim: Portrait of a Pimp (produced by Ice-T) as well as a recurring guest role on TV-One's Celebrity Crime Files. K’wan currently resides in New Jersey, where he is working on his next novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781622869978
ISBN-10: 1622869974
Publisher: Urban Books
Publication Date: June 28th, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English