The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. Any full-length novel, an original work in English, written by a citizen of the British Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland and published in the United Kingdom for the first time in the year of the prize is eligible. (

2014: The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan


2013: The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

2012: Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

2011: The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

2010: The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

2009: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2008: The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

2007: The Gathering by Anne Enright

2006: The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

2005: The Sea by John Banville

2004: The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst

2003: Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre

2002: Life of Pi by Yann Martel

2001: True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey

2000: The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

1999: Disgrace by J M Coetzee

1998: Amsterdam by Ian McEwan

1997: The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

1996: Last Orders by Graham Swift

1995: The Ghost Road by Pat Barker

1994: How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman

1993: Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

1992: The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje

1991: The Famished Road by Ben Okri

1990: Possession by A S Byatt

1989: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

1988: Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

1987: Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

1986: The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis

1985: The Bone People by Keri Hulme

1984: Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner

1983: Life & Times of Michael K by J M Coetzee

1982: Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally

1981: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

1980: Rites of Passage by William Golding

1979: Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald

1978: The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch

1977: Staying On by Paul Scott

1976: Saville by David Storey

1975: Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1974: The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer

1973: The Siege of Krishnapur by J G Farrell

1972: G by John Berger

1971: In a Free State by V S Naipaul

1970: The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens

1969: Something to Answer For by P H Newby