Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Light Pirate: GMA Book Club Selection By Lily Brooks-Dalton Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538708279
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - December 6th, 2022

A beautifully written and deeply touching novel following the life of a woman living in Florida during a time of migration and climate change. It's a powerful story that left me at first terrified and then immensely hopeful for the future of humanity and our place in nature. Highly recommended for fans of The Overstory and Station Eleven.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
Atlas of a Lost World: Travels in Ice Age America By Craig Childs Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780345806314
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 9th, 2019

A fascinating & accessible overview of the journey undertaken by the first humans to arrive in the Americas. From the Bering Straits to Patagonia, Craig Childs follows in the footsteps of these early adventurers, imagining how they survived, thrived, and forever altered an ecosystem untouched by humans and roamed by fearsome megafauna. Recomended for those already familiar with the Pleistocene, or those ready to discover a lost world from our distant past. 

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
Remarkably Bright Creatures: A Read with Jenna Pick By Shelby Van Pelt Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780063204157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - May 3rd, 2022

A heartwarming novel about love, loss, & friendship. The plot is undemanding & the characters are sympathetic, especially Marcellus the octopus narrator who steals the show (& other shiny trinkets for his collection). An easy beach read with a feel-good ending.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
The Only Good Indians: A Novel By Stephen Graham Jones Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781982136468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - January 26th, 2021

A Native American slasher novel in which four cursed friends are pursued by a vengeful spirit. Dripping with style, suspense, gore, & eye-opening social commentary about reservation life. At times, the brutal realism can be more unsettling than the supernatural.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky) By Rebecca Roanhorse Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534437685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - June 29th, 2021

A captivating fantasy series inspired by Mesoamerican cultures. The Meridian is populated by powerful priestesses, nonbinary assassins, mermaids, & a blinded young man serving as the avatar of a god's vengeance. Recommended for lovers of fantasy looking for a fresh world to be immersed in.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
The Emerald Mile: The Epic Story of the Fastest Ride in History Through the Heart of the Grand Canyon By Kevin Fedarko Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781439159866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - July 1st, 2014

A wild ride through the Grand Canyon at flood stage in a wooden dory with a colorful cast of river runners who are attempting to set a record for fastest descent of the canyon while experiencing the untamed river as Powell did while dodging park rangers & huge rapids around every bend. Covers the natural & human history of the Colorado River while telling a page-turning story of adventure.

-Evan 


Staff Pick Badge
The Magicians: A Novel (Magicians Trilogy #1) By Lev Grossman Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780452296299
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 25th, 2010

What if Holden Caulfield went to Hogwarts? In this beautifully written series an angsty young man grows into an adult while exploring a dangerous magical world. Recommended for adult fans of Harry Potter & Narnia who enjoy watching characters develop over multiple books.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
The Kaiju Preservation Society By John Scalzi Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780765389121
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - March 15th, 2022

A hilarious page-turner about a scrappy & diverse group of environmentalists who travel to an alternate dimension where huge monsters roam the earth. This book is pure fun, like Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy mixed with Jurassic Park.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
Powder Days: Ski Bums, Ski Towns and the Future of Chasing Snow By Heather Hansman Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781335081117
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hanover Square Press - November 9th, 2021

An unflinching look at rapidly changing ski resorts across North America. Hansman, a former ski bum herself, drops fearlessly into the inequality, mental health problems, changing climate, & culture of ski towns. Part travelogue, part social commentary, & entirely well-written, this book is a must-read for anyone living in a ski town in 2022.

-Evan


Staff Pick Badge
The Brothers Karamazov: A Novel in Four Parts and an Epilogue By Fyodor Dostoyevsky, David McDuff (Translated by), David McDuff (Introduction by), David McDuff (Notes by) Cover Image
By Fyodor Dostoyevsky, David McDuff (Translated by), David McDuff (Introduction by), David McDuff (Notes by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780140449242
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Classics - April 29th, 2003

Widely regarded as one of the best novels ever written. A surprisingly easy to read story of three (maybe four) brothers with different worldviews struggling with life, death, morality, purpose, & a difficult father all in their own way. Worst case, you will get to tell people you read it.

-Brad